成功故事

德国柏林工业大学生物技术研究所Rappsilber实验室

 

问:什么是你的实验室研究的焦点?

答:Rappsilber实验室对研究生命机制特别是蛋白质结构及其在活细胞中的相互作用感兴趣。 确定蛋白质的行为对于开发新药或了解可怕的疾病(例如癌症)至关重要。 为此,我们开发了最先进的方法和交联质谱法(crosslinking-MS)的新化学工具,包括新的交联剂和交联化学。 在化学生物学接口上,我们的工作包括肽的化学合成,荧光团标记的传感器,与肽和蛋白质反应的交联剂以及生物正交金属催化剂。

问:您之前的工作流程或挑战是什么?

答:今年(2020年),我们从零开始在这里的生物技术研究所(柏林理工大学)建立了化学实验室。 我们有机会对我们的工作流程要求进行了认真思考,并为现代的21st 世纪,小型化学实验室。 但是,我们是一个卫星校园,距离化学研究所10公里,这意味着我们缺乏常规的化学基础设施。 我们在这里面临的主要挑战之一是,如果没有特定于化学的分析能力,我们几乎是盲目的工作。 化学合成的每个步骤,包括反应监测,后处理,纯化和最终产物表征,都需要穿越柏林的艰辛而破坏性的旅程!

问:为什么你没有把它包括在内 E迅捷ION CMS进入您的实验室?

答:我们拥有先进的蛋白质组学设施,配备了先进的高精度,高灵敏度质谱仪,可用于分析极其复杂的肽混合物。 但是化学家需要动力,而不是一级方程式赛车。 Advion ex离子® CMS 毫无疑问。 我们需要一个通用,紧凑,易于使用,易于维护(约10分钟的校准),强大且能够快速分析(结果少于30秒)的系统。 这个系统就是所有这些,但是使用起来很令人愉悦。 这 尽快® 直接分析探针 对于固体和液体的分析非常有效。 在APCI和ESI之间切换非常便捷。 这 板块快递® 该系统使您可以直接从TLC板中识别反应产物,极大地简化了后续纯化过程。 Plate Express在从TLC斑点鉴定合成肽方面也非常有效。 这 ex离子 CMS 是我们化学实验室和工作流程的核心。

问:我们建议您购买 EXPRESSION CMS?

答:我们建议使用Advion ex离子 CMS 到任何规模的研究实验室。 该系统的多功能性确实令人印象深刻。

Success Story

Rappsilber Laboratory, Insitute of Biotechnology, Technical University Berlin, Germany

 

Q: WHAT IS THE FOCUS OF YOUR LAB’S RESEARCH?

A: The Rappsilber Laboratory is interested in studying the machinery of life, in particular protein structures and their interactions in living cells. Determining protein behaviour is crucial for developing new drugs or understanding terrible diseases such as cancer. We are doing this by developing state-of-the-art methods and new chemical tools for crosslinking mass spectrometry (crosslinking-MS), including new crosslinker reagents and crosslinking chemistry. Working on the chemistry-biology interface, our work encompasses chemical synthesis of peptides, fluorophore tagged sensors, peptide- and protein-reactive crosslinking reagents and bioorthogonal metal catalysts.

Q: WHAT WAS YOUR PREVIOUS WORKFLOW OR CHALLENGES?

A: This year (2020) we built a chemistry lab from scratch, here at the Institute of Biotechnology (TU Berlin). We had the opportunity to really think about our work flow requirements and create the most efficient chemical synthesis pipeline for a modern, 21st century, small chemistry laboratory. However, we are a satellite campus, located more than 10 km from the Institute of Chemistry, which meant that we were constrained by the lack of usual chemistry infrastructure. One of the major challenges that we faced here, is that without chemistry-specific analytical capability, we are working almost blind. Every step of chemical synthesis, including reaction monitoring, work-up, purification and final product characterisation required an exhausting and disruptive journey across Berlin!

Q: WHY DID YOU INCORPORATE THE EXPRESSION CMS INTO YOUR LABORATORY?

A: We operate an advanced proteomics facility, with cutting edge, high-precision, high sensitivity mass spectrometers for analysing extremely complex peptide mixtures. But a chemist needs a workhorse, not a Formula 1 car. The Advion expression® CMS was a no-brainer. We needed a system that is versatile, compact, easy-to-use, easy-to-maintain (~10 minute calibration), robust and allows fast analysis (result in <30 seconds). This system is all of this, but furthermore it is a delight to use. The ASAP® Direct Analysis Probe works fantastically well for analysis of solids and liquids. Switching between APCI and ESI is so quick and easy. The Plate Express® system makes it a joy to identify reaction products directly from TLC plates, greatly simplifying subsequent purifications. The Plate Express also works really well for identifying synthesised peptides from TLC spots. The expression CMS sits at the heart of our chemistry lab and workflow.

Q: WHO WOULD YOU RECOMMEND TO PURCHASE THE EXPRESSION CMS?

A: We would recommend the Advion expression CMS to literally any research laboratory, big or small. The versatility of the system is truly impressive.